Achieving Strategic Academic Innovation

The Academic Master Plan (AMP) is under the Strategic Academic Innovation transformation building block of Courageous Strategic Transformation. Our process will focus on planning from the future backward”* to ensure we identify and articulate the distinctive knowledge and skills that Colorado State University students will need into the future. Our approach is to look ahead, project what type of talents, knowledge and expertise businesses and organizations will be seeking, and build that into our world-class academic enterprise. The AMP will focus on developing areas of academic growth for our programs, research, and engagement activities 5-10 years into the future.

We will produce campus-wide strategies for how the University can undertake research and scholarship, and educate students with that knowledge and those skills. This will include assessing how the results of research and scholarship and the work of our graduates can contribute to solving society’s greatest challenges and advance the well-being of the human community.

The scope of this academic planning effort encompasses the following topics, taking direction from Courageous Strategic Transformation:

  • Areas of research, scholarship, and service
  • Academic programs including interdisciplinary curricula
  • Pedagogy
  • Qualitative and quantitative goals

*Norris, Donald et al. (2013), Transforming in an Age of Disruptive Change:  Part 2: Getting Started, Getting it Done, Planning in Higher Education, 41:2


AMP Current Work

Phase Two on Demographics and Emerging Opportunities for Teaching, Research and Engagement:
The AMP Planning Team is preparing for the February 11, 2022, Advisory Committee workshop for the launch of Phase Two.

Provost’s Fall Forum and Open Fora held in Fall 2021:

The AMP Advisory Committee, chaired by Dr. Linda Nagel, engaged Deans, Department Heads and Chairs, School and Institute Directors, Associate and Assistant Deans on academic master planning at the Provost’s Fall Forum in October. Nearly 145 people attended and their work was guided by Dr. Linda Dalton, a national expert in leading institutions of higher education through strategic planning processes. Additionally, representatives from centers, institutes, colleges, departments and units from across CSU attended two open fora in October. 

Phase One Templates and Draft Plans:
Departments, Colleges and Centers submitted their plans for the academic future of disciplines. The Advisory Committee is helping to review, synthesize and integrate these plans. 

As a part of the AMP work, we have established a lead Planning Committee (small group planning and facilitating the entire process) and an Advisory Committee with broad representation from across the entire University.  Please see the list of committee member names below.

Contact the AMP Advisory Committee:

If you have ideas, questions, or feedback about CSU’s Academic Master Plan, please contact the AMP Advisory Committee to share them with the Advisory Committee. We would love to hear from you!

Phases & Timeline

Fall 2021 – Phase One: What are the trends in our areas of research and engagement; what are the implications for our academic programs?
  • Conduct participant workshop at Provost’s Fall Forum focused on the future of academic programs, research and engagement  (October)
  • Synthesize findings into report on academic direction
Spring 2022 (before Spring Break) – Phase Two: Who are our future students; how will they learn; how should we engage them?
  • Conduct second participant workshop on demographics and pedagogy  (February)
  • Synthesize findings linking academic direction, curricula, and pedagogy
Spring 2022 (after Spring Break) – Phase Three: What are our goals and strategies; how do we monitor progress toward them?
  • Present interim reports for review by campus community
  • Refine as draft Academic Master Plan for Achieving Strategic Academic Innovation
  • Establish measurable goals and targets for academic programs, research and engagement
  • Establish criteria for enrollment targets
Summer 2022 – Phase Four: How do we convert academic direction and goals into enrollment targets?
  • Draft enrollment targets for the next five years – by program and by location/pedagogy

AMP Collaborative Network

The Academic Master Planning process will engage the entire University community through a collaborative network and multiple opportunities to participate. This AMP Collaborative Network model will involve identifying and developing strategic and interdisciplinary curricular innovations, and fostering faculty development in pursuit of excellence in teaching. Our process will be driven by the University’s values including inclusive excellence, diversity and equity.

A visual representation of the comprehensive network of collaboration for AMP

Resources, Templates and Planning Documents

Additional resources and templates will be added as we move through the planning phases.

Phase Two – Planning Documents & Presentations

Phase One – Planning Documents & Presentations

General Resources

About Academic Master Planning
Data Resources
Societal Trends
Future of Higher Education

AMP Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee’s role is to spend the fall semester listening and learning from AMP participant workshops and meetings, and then in the spring help to develop an innovative strategic report on the academic direction for CSU into the future. Full List of Courageous Strategic Transformation Leadership Drafting Groups 

  • Jennifer Aberle, Associate Dean, College of Health & Human Sciences
  • Brandon Bernier, Vice President for Information Technology
  • Amy Charkowski, Professor & Department Head, Bioagricultural Sciences & Pest Management
  • Kauline Cipriani, Vice President for Inclusive Excellence
  • Dierdre Cook, Principal, Poudre School District
  • David Dandy, Professor, Chemical & Biological Engineering
  • Nancy Deller, Interim Associate Vice President, University MarComm
  • Catherine DiCesare, Associate Professor, Art & Art History
  • Sue Doe, Professor (English) and Faculty Council Chair
  • Jody Donovan, Dean of Students
  • Andrea Duffy, Assistant Vice Provost, Office of the Provost & Executive Vice President
  • Sam Halabi, Senior Associate Vice President for Health Policy & Ethics
  • Roze Hentschell, Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts
  • Chad Hoseth, Assistant Vice Provost for International Affairs
  • Meggan Houlihan, Assistant Professor, Libraries
  • Brandon Lowry, Student, Biomedical Sciences and ASCSU Director of Academics
  • Linda Nagel, Advisory Committee Chair, Professor & Department Head, Forest & Rangeland Stewardship
  • Shrideep Pallickara, Professor, Computer Science
  • Sandra Quackenbush, Associate Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences
  • Monique Rocca, Associate Dean, Warner College of Natural Resources
  • Lindsey Shirley, Assistant Vice President, CSU Extension
  • Beth Walker, Dean, College of Business
  • Lindsay Winkenbach, Ph.D. Candidate, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology/College of Natural Sciences; Co-President, Graduate Student Council

AMP Planning Team

  • Jenelle Beavers, Vice President for Strategy
  • Linda Dalton, Dalton Education Associates, AMP Planning Consultant
  • Kathy DuQuoin, Executive Assistant, Office of the Provost & Executive Vice President
  • Pam Jackson, Associate Vice Provost for Communications
  • Laura Jensen, Vice Provost for Planning & Effectiveness
  • Linda Nagel, Planning Team Chair, Professor & Department Head, Forest & Rangeland Stewardship
  • Emily Seems, Associate Vice President, University Marketing & Communications